Writers' Club


Free E-book Paperback £9.99
Buy now

A remote port harbours corruption, secrets and violence. 
Three women must struggle to avoid drowning.  

Lenora is a young girl who watches her only parent, her father, become seduced by greed. When she finds romance with Helmer, her fairy-tale ending seems to be in sight. 

Annemarie’s early years, scarred by poverty and strife, appear to brighten when she manages to find employment as Lenora’s nurse. 

That is, until she is raped. 

Krister, an old friend of Lenora’s, lusts after Krogstad but finds herself in a loveless marriage with another man. She soon discovers her husband has been hiding many secrets… 

Can they survive? 
Or will the past drag each of them back into its clutches? 

N.B. This book contains adult content

Purchase Options

(UK Postage)
(International Postage)
Add to Cart
Add to Cart
Add to Cart

About the Author

Martin Houghton has directed plays and musicals in various theatres and drama schools throughout England and Wales. He founded the Northumberland Theatre Company, and has taken on many roles over the years: associate director of York Theatre Royal; artistic director of the Cheltenham Everyman Theatre; and senior lecturer in acting at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. He has also directed numerous productions in a freelance capacity.

Martin’s discoveries over the course of his career became the starting point of this novel. Drawing inspiration from directing Henrik Ibsen’s play, A Doll’s House, Martin developed his initial ideas for a novel and introduced a host of influential new characters. His story soon gained momentum and took on a life of its own, slowly transforming into DukkeHus.

Martin has two sons and lives in Wales with Evie, his gorgeous dog.

Discover more about the author and his debut novel here: https://martinhoughton.com/

Book Details

  • Author: Martin Houghton
  • Publication Date: 28/02/2017
  • Paperback ISBN: 978-1-911240-35-8
  • EPUB ISBN: 978-1-911240-32-7
  • MOBI ISBN: 978-1-911240-33-4
  • PDF ISBN: 978-1-911240-34-1